A Rose By Any Other Name Would Not Smell As Sweet

The most beautiful women are right here, right around me in my circle of friends. I have been so blessed to meet and keep actual diamonds where other people don’t have anything even close to the women I know.

My best friend I will call Daisy, no Rose, because she is just that. A rose is beautiful, outstandingly beautiful but sharp if you don’t treat it right. Rose will not put up with crap, doesn’t have time or is not stupid enough to. You know how some women are smart enough to know better than to waste their time listening to other people’s BS? Younger women idiotically listen to the crap people spew whether it be from a man, a repairman, a clerk, or some other idiot explaining why it has taken 4 days to do what could have been done in 2 hours. Rose is smart, beautiful, and experienced enough to live life because she knows that is what life is all about. Eliminating the crap and enjoying the good. She has a very good life. She is beautiful, funny and smart and her family and friends reflect that. She is proud of her family and rightfully so. She has come so far, from almost losing everything to having more than most people could ever dream of having. She has been my strength in times of weakness, my knowledge when I needed to learn, my comfort when I needed it, and my savior at times.

Rose is incredibly beautiful. On the inside, she is the most caring and generous person you could ever meet. Not one birthday has gone by where I don’t expect to hear from her or get a cake from her. At my age, birthdays have been narrowed down to a call from my brother and sister congratulating me for surviving another year, and my immediate family taking me out to dinner. So yeah, when your little circle is down to 5 people, way down from the near hundred you experienced as a child or when you were really doing well, that birthday friend means alot. Rose isn’t a steadfast friend only when it is an important calendar day; she is there when it is just another sunny day. She’ll come over and we’d pick chiles off my plant, or dive into a great snack or just talk about all kinds of stuff. She is so sweet, funny and pretty, I could just talk to her for hours and hours. I recently spent the night at her house and we ended up having a great time just doing jigsaw puzzles, snacking ALL night long, and spending good quality time together, the kind we should have been spending many many years ago instead of frittering time away.

On the outside, Rose is beautiful. Sometimes I will catch a glimpse of her and say to myself, “Wow, she is really beautiful.” She said she has Greek in her. Her mom was a stunner as well. I am not the only one who thinks she is spectacular; she won a beauty pageant once. The only thing I ever won was a drawing for some free gas, and that was fixed. (I stuffed the box myself.)

I look up to her like a big sister. She could sit Rachel Ray and any of those other women down and teach them a thing or two about how to put an incredible meal together whether it is for two or twenty-two. She can cook, clean, sew, be artistic, be a healer, be a friend, be a confidant, be a guide, be so many things all wrapped up into one. With beauty, too. Amazing isn’t it? She is. I thank God that I am blessed with diamonds like her in my life. During times of darkness in my life brilliant rays of light shine through. They are coming from the diamonds, diamonds which are my friends.

Leave a Reply

