The Christmas Surprise

Today when I came home from work there was a new tablecloth on the table.

blue-heron-141

and an artsy little wooden centerpiece with scented pinecones in the center.

 blue-heron-15

 I couldn’t believe my manly-man husband had done this so I asked who had come by.  He said, “Santa.” There was a fancy new toaster on the corner of the table. Black and Decker of all things. (It probably uses hydraulics to push up the slices of toast.) The old toaster had just gone out this morning and I did not expect a replacement so soon (or a Black and Decker of all things.)

He said, “I got one of those things for the bottom of the tree like you wanted but it was the wrong size.” So I looked under the tree and to my amazement… there was a skirt but there were presents now!!!! Beautifully wrapped presents, too, for being wrapped by a man.

 blue-heron-17

and he had even set up the angel tree topper he bought. She is beautiful.

blue-heron-21

It has really been a tough year and we are broker than ever but he is managing to come through with his best and I am so happy. My daughter has had her friends over for a few times so I guess she has gotten over the shame of us not being rich and not living in houses like this:

blue-heron-9

blue-heron-10

blue-heron-8

new-tablecloth-008

We have provided the girls (my daughter and her friends) with great meals, good times and lots of fun and I think they are smart enough to know that is what really matters. They see me and the hubby hug and kiss so they know there is love in the house. We did not let our daughter go spend the night at their house tonight because it was a school night and they asked, “Why all the rules?” We explained without terrifying them with too many true horror stories why we have rules that our daughter must follow. We don’t let our daughter roam around the island for hours and hours without adult supervision. They were so angry (our daughter included) when we said our daughter could not go running around unsupervised for hours on the island ON BIKE WEEK!

bay-shots-10-11-069

I just don’t think that is a good time for a bunch of 14 year old girls to be running around unsupervised. My opinion.

Tomorrow is my daughter’s birthday and though I am not making even close to the money I used to make where I used to live, I am providing her with a stable home and a solid life. Life is not spinning out of control like it was when I lived with her dad.

new-tablecloth-019

 He met and is engaged to someone with a lot of money so I may lose her when she starts wanting really nice things and my meager paycheck won’t cut it anymore. I know this. Until then I am just going to have to make the best out of the time I have with her.

I don’t know what the future has in store. The economy is scary. People are losing their jobs left and right. Companies are folding and laying off hundreds or thousands of workers. I just hope that the beautiful island that I know and love so well will make it through the slow season and thrive in the spring and summer.

All I know is that the life I have now is wonderful. All I have is today so I am doing my best with what I have. To close I am going to share a few pictures I took of the area so I can close on a beautiful note.

We took a boat trip out on the bay and this bird was on the roof of a house we passed on the way out.  

 blue-heron

 This bridge we have here is the longest in Texas. This is just a small fragment of it.

blue-heron-5

The sky here is a beautiful blue, my favorite color.

blue-heron-11

 

I can’t get over how such a manly man was able to put this together for me. I would expect someone like him to throw them in a plastic, white Tupperware bowl and put it on the table. Instead, he bought an artsy wooden rectangular tray. He continues to surprise me.

blue-heron-14

One Response to The Christmas Surprise

  1. poietes says:

    Just happened to catch your post on Alpha Inventions and wanted to say that you may be surprised by how your daughter reacts to her dad and his rich fiance as compared to living in a home with love. Kids can surprise you. Sometimes they really do notice things that you think that they don’t. A loving home with fewer material things means the world of difference. I worried over the decisions I made, too, but in the end, it was better to not be with my kids’ dad and fighting all of the time, even if it meant fewer material things. They’re still with me and their stepdad. And by the way, don’t give in on the rules, for what it’s worth. You won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

